Marshall County Health Department Accreditation Information

In the 2015-2016 fiscal year, Marshall County Health Department (MCHD) began our Journey to Excellence. In February of 2022, we were conferred Accredited status from the Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB). Our goal is to continually improve and protect the health of the public by advancing the quality and performance of MCHD. The framework of PHAB’s Standards and Measures are derived from the 10 Essential Public Health Services and measures the capacity of how the health department delivers core functions of assessment, policy developments, and assurance. Reaching accreditation status helps our efforts to assure accountability to you, the community we serve; to meet our mission of improving the health of Marshall County; to build on our strengths; identify opportunities for improvement; and to place our health department in a competitive position for grant funding.

The Ten Essential Public Health Services

1. Monitor health status to identify and solve community health problems.

2. Diagnose and investigate health problems and health hazards in the community.

3. Inform, educate, and empower people about health issues.

4. Mobilize community partnerships and action to identify and solve health problems.

5. Develop policies and plans that support individual and community health efforts.

6. Enforce laws and regulations that protect health and ensure safety.

7. Link people to needed personal health services and assure the provision of health care when otherwise unavailable.

8. Assure competent public and personal health care workforce.

9. Evaluate effectiveness, accessibility, and quality of personal and population-based health services.

10. Research for new insights and innovative solutions to health problems. 

Accreditation assesses local health department capabilities to address the following domains:

1. Assess: Conduct and disseminate assessments focused on population health status and public health issues facing the community

2. Investigate: Investigate health problems and environmental public health hazards to protect the community

3. Inform & Educate: Inform and educate about public health issues and functions

4. Community Engagement: Engage with the community to identify and address health problems

5. Policies & Plans: Develop public health policies and plans

6. Public Health Laws: Enforce public health laws

7. Access to Care: Promote strategies to improve access to health care services

8. Workforce: Maintain a competent public health workforce

9. Quality Improvement: Evaluate and continuously improve processes, programs, and interventions

10. Evidence-Based Practices: Contribute to and apply the evidence base of public health

11. Administration & Management: Maintain administrative and management capacity

12. Governance: Maintain capacity to engage the public health governing entity